In Florida as with any other state, it is the responsibility of drivers to drive in a manner that does not cause harm to people or destroy properties. If a driver violates this duty and harms someone, the driver may be held responsible and sued for injuries and damages. Whether or not the driver was driving in a reasonable way is dependent depends on specific situations peculiar to a case. For instance, while driving at the speed limit might be reasonable in good weather, the same cannot be said for adverse weather conditions.

Florida law mandates that drivers have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection, and another $10,000 for property damage. However, these amounts most times do not cover all the damage an injured person incurs.

Car Accident deaths Rose by 6% in 2016

According to data collected on percentage increase of accidents since the year 2014, the state of Florida has the highest increase in fatalities. Accidents in the state have risen by over 43%, much higher than the state of Georgia that comes second.

The National Safety Council reports that motor vehicle deaths increased by 6% for 2016 in comparison with 2015. Data from the National Highway Traffic Commission also shows 8% increase of accident deaths in the first nine months of 2016, with motor vehicle deatha reaching as high as 40,200. That was the first time since 2007 that the numbers have exceeded 40,000.

While cheap gasoline cost and a booming economy has been blamed for the increase in the number of auto crashes, complacency on the part of driver has also been pointed out by the head of the NSC. She explained that in a study done by the council, 47% of drivers find nothing bad about texting while driving, 16% do not wear seat belts always, 25% speed in residential area and about 10% reported having drunk while driving.

Florida has also been lagging behind in the adoption of driver protection laws. For example, some states have placed restrictions on texting or any other cell phone usage while driving, but in Florida, texting while driving is still considered a second tier offence. Meaning that a driver can only be charged with texting while driving if he is pulled over for a more “serious” offence.

With all these happenings, it is therefore expedient to get a personal injury attorney to champion your case in the event of an accident. Some benefits you get when you hire an expert with experience include:

You Get Your Reimbursement Amount

A personal injury attorney, makes sure that you get the actual reimbursement amount. They also make sure that you do not get low settlement from the insurance company.

An Expert Knows the Different Strategies

A legal professional ensures you get the best advice and stops you from wasting your time and money fighting dues, while at the same time making sure you get maximum compensation or reimbursement.

Basically, having the experience of an expert personal injury attorney on your side is priceless. You should however research and do the necessary background checks before you settle for one.


Skip to content